Seller
Your price
£4.96
RRP: £7.99
Save £3.03 (38%)
Dispatched within 3-4 working days.

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds

By (author) Kelly McCaughrain
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd, London, United Kingdom
Published: 1st Mar 2018
Dimensions: w 129mm h 198mm d 23mm
Weight: 266g
Interest age: From 12 years
ISBN-10: 1406375659
ISBN-13: 9781406375657
Barcode No: 9781406375657
Synopsis
"Witty and clever. This novel really does sparkle." Roddy Doyle From debut author Kelly McCaughrain comes a sweet and kooky romcom for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Sarah Crossan, and Susin Nielsen's We Are All Made of Molecules. Twins Finch and Birdie Franconi are stars of the flying trapeze. But when Birdie suffers a terrifying accident, Finch must team up with the geeky new kid, Hector Hazzard, to form an all-boys double act and save the family circus school. Together they learn to walk the high-wire of teen life and juggle the demands of friends, family, first love and facing up to who they are - all served up with a dash of circus-showbiz magic.

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
-New£4.96
+ FREE UK P & P

What Reviewers Are Saying

Submit your review
Newspapers & Magazines
"Flying tips for Flightless Birds is a quirky and complex story, told with an elegant simplicity that hooks you from the first few pages. A gentle but gripping exploration of the highs and lows of being a young person, of love, friends and the relationship we have with ourselves and others." * The Book Bag * "Highs, lows, love and laughter - this big-hearted circus-set debut has it all. [...]Alongside the tension and turmoil around Birdie's condition, and the radiant razzle-dazzle of the circus, there's a magnificent (if rocky-roaded) romance, and many words of wisdom come courtesy of Birdie's blog posts [...] Complex questions are put under the spotlight as the main characters try to navigate their way in the world, wondering who they are, who they should be, how they fit in, and these big issues are all explored with clarity, humour and a whole of lot of heart beneath Franconi's exhilarating Big Top." * LoveReading4Kids * This novel is as good as Meg Rosoff at her finest. A fresh and honest look at teenage life, and explored issues of sexuality and identity. * Book Murmuration * Flying Tips for Flightless Birds is unexpectedly funny, often enjoyable and, at its best, oddly moving. This is a debut which juggles the sweet and the sombre, and is ideal for 11-14 readers. I'm intrigued to see what McCaughrain writes next. * The Paper Alchemist * Incredibly charming and well-written. * Lit Lucy *