Seller
Your price
£4.91
RRP: £8.99
Save £4.08 (45%)
Dispatched within 3-4 working days.

All That Was Lost

By (author) Alison May
Format: Paperback / softback
Publisher: Legend Press Ltd, London, United Kingdom
Published: 6th Sep 2018
Dimensions: w 130mm h 200mm d 20mm
Weight: 246g
ISBN-10: 1787198758
ISBN-13: 9781787198753
Barcode No: 9781787198753
Synopsis
Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy In 1967 Patience Bickersleigh is a teenager who discovers a talent for telling people what they want to hear. Fifty years later she is Patrice Leigh, a nationally celebrated medium. But cracks are forming in the carefully constructed barriers that keep her real history at bay. Leo is the journalist hired to write Patrice's biography. Struggling to reconcile the demands of his family, his grief for his lost son, and his need to understand his own background, Leo becomes more and more frustrated at Patrice's refusal to open up. Because behind closed doors, Patrice is hiding more than one secret. And it seems that now, her past is finally catching up with her. May thrills in this English familial mystery, adding enticing plot layers as intricate and divisive as the themes she introduces. `Intriguing with a cast of complex characters that keep you fascinated, this is a page-turner and surprisingly tender' Katie FForde `A resonant, emotional story about grief, loss and love with a complex, tragic heroine-a fake psychic reaching the end of her career. Although it's about death, this story is never depressing, and ultimately it's about recovery and healing' Julie Cohen `A beautiful and compelling story that delves into what is real, what we are willing to believe and the power of grief' Liz Fenwick `"All That is Lost" is a bold, beautiful thought-provoking novel, that sensitively confronts difficult themes' Rowan Coleman 'It is a triumph. What Alison May has produced is an intimate and affecting study of loss, grief and identity that is just wonderful.' Linda's Book Bag 'What an interesting and unique book... a fascinating, at times heart-wrenching, look at secrets, the cost of keeping them hidden, and whether hiding them requires lies.' Fireflies and Free Kicks

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
-New£4.91
+ FREE UK P & P

What Reviewers Are Saying

Submit your review
Nov 3rd, 13:40
A very human story of the cause and effect of loss
Excellent - 9 out of 10
It’s a bit hard to not make this book sound like a depressing read. Amongst Alison May’s pages there exists every realm of loss imaginable. The loss of a child and the loss of a parent. Experiencing loss and creating loss. Loss of love, history, identity, hope, sanity, memory, dignity, reality and truth. Even the loss of a pet dog sneaks in there.

There’s something about loss that interests people. It’s what makes drivers take a look when passing an accident and consumers buy a tabloid which reports a human tragedy. It’s the sense of catharsis produced through morbid curiosity. This interest perhaps is a flaw in human nature. So it is very fitting that this story is based on flawed humanity and the difficult decisions that humans make. Not always the right ones.

Patrice is part Psychic Sally and part Blanche Dubois. Impeccably controlled and smartly turned out with a heartbreakingly tragic past swirling inside. All That Was Lost takes us along two parallel stories. In one, we witness celebrity psychic Patrice Leigh fighting to maintain her identity against the onset of what may be dementia. In another, the teenage Patience Bickersleigh comes of age in 1967. It’s clear that the two are the same person, and slowly we piece together each one’s story.

Amongst all of this are entwined the stories of Leo and Louise. Two individual parents experiencing grief and loss in very different ways. What is most affecting about the stories here is how Alison May so accurately conveys the ripples of effect that loss causes through a family and indeed a community. How loss can be both sanctioned by a community, feared by a community and sought out by a community.

In a previous professional life I booked theatre shows for venues, and in the industry certain celebrity psychics were always a dead cert to sell out (if you’ll excuse the pun). I remember one particular psychic lost a piece of jewellery in the venue and the general consensus amongst the staff was scathingly unsympathetic. Could they not locate it with their ‘gift’?

I booked these acts with some moral hesitation since making money out of other people’s loss doesn’t sit that well with me. Clearly the income of the venue won out, but I couldn’t stop thinking about this all the way through reading this book. Perhaps it influenced my sympathies.

In the end, the barriers that Patrice has built between her current identity and her teenage self allow the reader to completely sympathise with Patience without much liking Patrice in the present day. The narrative manages to link them and yet separate them entirely. My heart broke for Patience. I understood why she takes the path that she does. However this did not alter how unsympathetic I felt towards Patrice, and I found this contrast affecting if a little disturbing! The effect is that you are confronted quite graphically with your own judgemental inclinations.

So surely, this is loss at its most extreme. The decision of one person to completely erase their identity so as to stop experiencing the pain of the loss. As extreme, in a way, as Louise’s total submersion in her loss. Alison May clearly conveys the inclination of people put in extreme situations to react in extreme ways. It happens throughout the book, from the central protagonists to characters who lurk in the background.

However, for a book about loss, weirdly this is not devastating to read. It’s littered with sad experiences, yes, but there is something uplifting about Leo’s freedom at the close and, perversely, about Pat’s decision to take control of her own destiny. Perhaps it is this furtive sense of empowerment that makes this book such a page turner. Or perhaps it’s just morbid curiosity!
Newspapers & Magazines
'Intriguing with a cast of complex characters that keep you fascinated, this is a page-turner and surprisingly tender'--Katie Fforde 'A resonant, emotional story about grief, loss and love with a complex, tragic heroine--a fake psychic reaching the end of her career. Although it's about death, this story is never depressing, and ultimately it's about recovery and healing'--Julie Cohen 'A beautiful and compelling story that delves into what is real, what we are willing to believe and the power of grief'--Liz Fenwick 'All That is Lost is a bold, beautiful thought-provoking novel, that sensitively confronts difficult themes'--Rowan Coleman