Seller
Your price
£7.20
RRP: £14.99
Save £7.79 (52%)
Dispatched within 3-4 working days.

The Magician's Lie

By (author) Greer Macallister
Format: Hardback
Publisher: Legend Press Ltd, London, United Kingdom
Published: 20th Mar 2017
Dimensions: w 140mm h 223mm d 25mm
Weight: 444g
ISBN-10: 1787199967
ISBN-13: 9781787199965
Barcode No: 9781787199965
Synopsis
A USA Today Bestseller 'This is a book in which storylines twist, spiral and come together again in an ending as explosive as a poof of smoke from your chimney... or a top hat.' -- Oprah.com 'Smart, intricately plotted... a richly imagined thriller.' -- PEOPLE magazine The Amazing Arden is the most famous female illusionist of her day, renowned for her notorious trick of sawing a man in half on stage. But one night she swaps her trademark saw for an axe. When Arden's husband is found dead later that night, the answer seems clear, most of all to young policeman Virgil Holt. Captured and taken into custody, all seems set for Arden's swift confession. But she has a different story to tell. Even handcuffed and alone, Arden is far from powerless, and what she reveals is as unbelievable as it is spellbinding. A magical and mysterious historical thriller, perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants. What Reviewers and Readers Say: '[A] well-paced, evocative, and adventurous historical novel...' Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review 'A wonderfully dark and intriguing historical thriller. The Amazing Arden is a fabulous heroine who keeps us guessing until the curtain falls. I loved it!' Hazel Gaynor, author of 'The Girl Who Came Home' 'This debut novel is historical fiction that blends magic, mystery, and romance.' Boston Globe 'It's a captivating yarn... Macallister, like the Amazing Arden, mesmerizes her audience. No sleight of hand is necessary. An ambitious heroine and a captivating tale are all the magic she needs.' Washington Post 'In The Magician's Lie, Greer Macallister has created a rich tapestry of mystery, magic, and lost love. The novel drew me in with its lush details and edge-of-your-seat plot. The tale of the tragic Amazing Arden, a female magician, will have you questioning how the truth of a tale can be different than the material facts, and how what you feel can be stronger than the soundest logic.' Margaret Dilloway, author of 'How to be an American Housewife' and 'The Care of Handling Roses with Thorns' 'Twisted together with magic, a drenching touch of evil, betrayal, love, and wonderful storytelling will make this a tale you won't soon forget. Is her story real, or a magician's lie?' Becky Milner, Vintage Books (Vancouver, WA) 'Greer Macallister handles the reader with the command and brilliance of a world class ringmaster. The Magician's Lie is a mesmerizing novel of illusion, secrets, and suspense. Bravo!' Erika Robuck, author of 'Call me Zelda' and 'Fallen Beauty' 'The Magician's Lie is riveting, compelling, beautiful, frightening, evocative and above all magical. Don't miss this immersive novel of suspense and wonder from an exciting new voice in historical fiction!' M.J. Rose 'A suspenseful and well-researched tale of magic, secrets and betrayal that will keep you guessing until the end.' J. Courtney Sullivan, author of 'The Engagements and Maine' 'Like her heroine the Amazing Arden, Greer Macallister has created a blend of magic that is sure to delight her audience. The Magician's Lie is a rich tale of heart-stopping plot turns, glittering prose, and a cast of complex, compelling characters. Readers beware: those who enter Macallister's delicious world of magic and mystery won't wish to leave!' Allison Pataki, author of 'The Traitor's Wife'

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
-New£7.20
+ FREE UK P & P

What Reviewers Are Saying

Submit your review
Newspapers & Magazines
'A wonderfully plotted, suspenseful, compelling, beautiful, frightening, evocative and above all, magical story which marks Macallister as an exciting new voice in historical fiction.' -- John Cleal 'Readers may well compare Greer's novel to The Night Circus, as it revolves around the mysterious world of magic and illusions... the story is spun like a bard's hypnotic tale. By the end, the reader is left wondering what is real and what is illusion.' -- RT Book Reviews 'Greer Macallister's novel will surely capture the imagination of all readers waiting impatiently for the next Water for Elephants... intense character development, spot-on historical references, and page-turning action.' -- Nancy Simpson-Brice 'In her historical fiction debut, Macallister... has created a captivating world of enchantment and mystery that readers will be loath to leave.' -- <i>Library Journal</i> 'A little taste of The Night Circus, and little salt of Water for Elephants, The Magician's Lie by Greer Macallister is a wonderful combination of magic, vaudeville and the drama of a secret life.' -- Annie Philbrick '[A] well-paced, evocative, and adventurous historical novel...' -- <i>Publishers Weekly</i>