Seller
Your price
£5.41
RRP: £6.99
Save £1.58 (23%)
Dispatched within 3-5 working days.

Plain Jane

When Does Being Stuck Become ... Unstuck?

By (author) Kim Hood
Format: Paperback
Publisher: O'brien (distribution G&m), Dublin 6, Ireland
Published: 28th Jul 2016
Dimensions: w 130mm h 196mm d 19mm
Weight: 245g
Interest age: From 12
Reading age: From 11
ISBN-10: 1847177840
ISBN-13: 9781847177841
Barcode No: 9781847177841
Synopsis
At nearly 16, Jane has lived in the shadow of her little sister Emma's cancer diagnosis for over three years. Now, with her parents struggling to cope financially and emotionally, Jane's life in her rural mining village seems to be a never ending monotony of skipping school, long bus rides to the hospital and hanging out with a boyfriend she doesn't even know why she is with. Nobody really cares that her life is stuck in neutral; she is finding it difficult to care herself . . . Ultimately, Jane begins to understand the real parts of her life that are good.

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
-New£5.41
+ FREE UK P & P

What Reviewers Are Saying

Submit your review
Newspapers & Magazines
I love a good contemporary. I love it more when there are elements of realism - and I mean REAL realism, not the sort of realism that isn't likely to ever happen to any living person but still necessitates a disclaimer that persons or events within the story are fictional yadda yadda ... I like my real books to be real. With Plain Jane - Kim Hood achieved just that ... Each character, even the secondary ones, are well-developed and essentially real people, which is all one can ask for in a book really! ... brilliantly done ... a wonderful dose of contemporary realism and a fantastic example of a book written the way it should be: shown, not told -- aseriesoferraticism a very exciting, gripping and touching read ... an unforgettable and must read book for all teens -- Maisie Sadler for lovereading4kids.co.uk This book is packed with so much emotion and creative story-telling, I didn't think my heart would keep up. Wow. I enjoyed every part of this book and couldn't put it down -- Megan West for lovereading4kids.co.uk captivating ... I recommend this to everyone ... a truly brilliant book -- Katherine for lovereading4kids.co.uk Unique from any book I have previously read, Hood ingeniously captures the essence of what it is like to be affected by a catastrophic illness ... Through her complex characters, and ability to perfectly gauge the thoughts of a teenage girl, Hood once again crafts a captivating story that I, for one, couldn't put down. Furthermore, unlike most young adult stories, Hood addresses multiple topical issues seemingly with ease, undoubtedly creating a more accurate portrayal of what it is like to be the sister without the illness -- Morgan Steigmann for lovereading4kids.co.uk Emotional, powerful and compelling, I loved 'Plain Jane' from the very first page. I was a massive fan of 'Finding A Voice' and the latest novel from Kim Hood was certainly not a letdown ... For fans of books such as 'The Fault In Our Stars', 'My Sister's Keeper' and 'Dandelion Clocks' this book is a must read -- Amy Laws for lovereading4kids.co.uk thought provoking and at times I had tears in my eyes ... sensitive ... informative ... a must read! -- Edel Waugh, lovereading4kids told with real insight and compassion; it takes the reader on a dark journey before bringing a real message of hope -- parentsintouch.co.uk