The house was built by Sir John de Clevedon in c.1320, incorporating parts of a massive 13th-century tower and great hall. Much of the original building is still evident. Altered and added to by the Elizabethans, it has been home to the Elton family since 1709. The house contains many striking Eltonware pots and vases and a fascinating collection of Nailsea glass. There is also a beautiful terraced garden.