This book, incorporating some 70 photographs, tells the fascinating history of the former North Wales Hospital, Denbigh between 1842 and 1995. The hospital was built predominately to provide for Welsh Pauper Lunatics, the majority of whom were monoglot Welsh speakers, so that they could be cared for and treated in their own language instead of being sent to English Asylums. The hospital served the counties of Denbighshire, Flintshire, Caernarvonshire, Meironethshire and Anglesey and at its peak in the 1950s catered for 1,500 patients and employed around 1,000 staff. The treatment of mental illness changed dramatically over this period and improvements in medical, psychological, social and nursing care and attitudes resulted in the closure of the hospital in 1995 and the transfer of services to the community and smaller and more local units.
As the proposed development of the hospital site will result in major changes to the building and the site, we feel it is important to retain the history of the hospital and the hardworking staff and patients who were treated there and to highlight the major contribution the hospital made to the development of treatment and care for the mentally ill in North Wales and to the economy of Denbigh. As seen on Living TV's Most Haunted Live 'The Village of the Damned' week-long special in October 2008. This book tells the real history of the former Asylum.