Your price
Out of Stock

The New Oxford History of Music

Romanticism: 1830-1890 Vol 9. The New Oxford History of Music

Edited by Gerald Abraham
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Oxford, United Kingdom
Published: 31st Mar 1995
Dimensions: w 155mm h 245mm
ISBN-10: 0198164564
ISBN-13: 9780198164562
Barcode No: 9780198164562
The ten-volume "New Oxford History of Music" represents a complete survey of music from the earliest times until 1960. This volume provides a comprehensive overview of the years from 1830 to 1890. This most diverse of musical periods harvested a rich crop of great music, much of which has entered the standard instrumental, orchestral, and operatic repertoire. The first decade of this period saw the coming to maturity of the first generation of Romantic composers - Berlioz, Chopin, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Liszt, Wagner and Verdi. By 1890, Wagner, Liszt and Franck had recently died, and the next few years were to witness the deaths of Brahms and Bruckner, and the final masterpieces of Verdi and Tchaikovsky.

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
Out of Stock

What Reviewers Are Saying

Be the first to review this item. Submit your review now