Your price
Out of Stock

Titan's Progress

(Brass Band Score and Parts)

By (author) Hermann Pallhuber
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Faber Music Ltd, London, United Kingdom
Published: 7th Aug 2008
Weight: 1349g
ISBN-10: 0571569676
ISBN-13: 9780571569670
Barcode No: 9780571569670
"Titan" was a novel by the German author Johann Paul Friedrich Richter, who was later known as Jean Paul, and was considered the author's main work. At almost 900 pages in length, it tells the story of the transition of its hero, Albano de Cesara, from a passionate youth to a mature man. Jean Paul was one of Gustav Mahler's favourite authors and the latter gave the original five-movement version of his first symphony the subtitle "The Titan" - in deference to Jean Paul's novel."Titan's Progress", which is Pallhuber's first work for the British style brass band, also contains references to the music of Gustav Mahler. Motifs from Mahler's "First Symphony" are employed throughout and especially the principal theme of the finale. Pallhuber's music is programmatic and uses the content of the novel and its hero Albano's evolution for its underlying structure. The stylistic variety of the work (including the Chorale, an impudent Landler, a dancing Farandole, and a climactic Fugue) are Mahleresque in their influences.

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
Out of Stock

What Reviewers Are Saying

Be the first to review this item. Submit your review now