Your price
RRP: £12.99
Save £5.79 (45%)
Dispatched within 4-5 working days.

Wigan Athletic

By (author) Dean Hayes
Format: Paperback / softback
Publisher: The History Press Ltd, Stroud, United Kingdom
Published: 1st Sep 2009
Dimensions: w 171mm h 249mm d 11mm
Weight: 418g
ISBN-10: 0750925345
ISBN-13: 9780750925341
Barcode No: 9780750925341
Wigan Athletic was founded in 1932 after a public meeting at the Queen's Head at which it was decided to establish a new club to attempt to regain the League place of disbanded Wigan Borough. It was not, however, until 1978 that the Latics finally won election to the Fourth Division. Defying the area's reputation as a rugby stronghold, the club consolidated their status by going on to win promotion to the Third Division in 1982. Their honours over the years have included the Freight Rover Trophy in 1982, the Third Division Championship in 1996/97 and the Auto Windscreens Shield in 1999. Now playing their home games at the all-seater 25,000 capacity JJB Stadium, Latics star players since their admittance to the Football League have included Peter Atherton, John Butler, Bobby Campbell, Peter Houghton, Kevin Langley, David Lowe, Colin Methven and Steve Walsh.

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price

What Reviewers Are Saying

Be the first to review this item. Submit your review now