Seller
Your price
£3.33
RRP: £7.99
Save £4.66 (58%)
Dispatched within 3-4 working days.

Empress of a Thousand Skies

By (author) Editor Rhoda Belleza
Format: Paperback / softback
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc, New York, NY, United States
Imprint: Penguin USA
Published: 3rd Nov 2017
Dimensions: w 136mm h 206mm d 25mm
Weight: 335g
Interest age: From 12 years
ISBN-10: 110199911X
ISBN-13: 9781101999110
Barcode No: 9781101999110
Synopsis
For fans of Pierce Brown and Firefly comes an epic sci-fi fantasy, hailed as "an important and relevant novel" by The New York Times. Empress Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta'an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She'll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne. Fugitive Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he's falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation - and his life. Madman With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly must confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy. Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in this exhilarating debut, perfect for readers of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles and Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman's Illuminae Files.

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
-New£3.33
+ FREE UK P & P

What Reviewers Are Saying

Submit your review
Newspapers & Magazines
"Intergalactic political intrigue, family betrayal and coveted thrones feature in this space opera story...real-world analogues and social commentary make Empress of a Thousand Skies an important and relevant novel."--The New York Times Book Review "This is a multiplanet, multiculture, multitech world and a timely tale. An exceptionally satisfying series opener." --Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"Fans of calculating political maneuvering and expansive, interplanetary plots will find much to enjoy in Belleza's Firefly-esque debut." --Publishers Weekly

"Belleza creates a thrilling world filled with deception, war, friendship, and love... a good next read for YA fans of Marissa Meyer's "The Lunar Chronicles" series." --School Library Journal

"Fans of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles and especially readers of Lewis' Stitching Snow will find much to like in this thrilling yet thoughtful intergalactic ride." --BCCB

"Belleza's ambitious debut lays the groundwork for what is sure to be a rich sci-fi series full of political plots and worlds on the brink of war, futuristic biotechnologies reminiscent of M. T. Anderson's Feed (2002), and startling plot twists."--Booklist

"Empress of a Thousand Skies will compel fans of series such as Marissa Meyer's The Lunar Chronicle; Victoria Aveyard's The Red Queen; Beth Revis's Across the Universe; and George Lucas's Star Wars. Belleza's exciting novel debut will make readers desperate for the next book to complete this duology."--VOYA

"Belleza's debut is dazzling--an adventure as sweeping in scope as the galaxies it spans!"
--Kiersten White, #1 New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

"An epic space opera with all the elements of an addictive read--danger, deception, unlikely allies, and the fate of worlds hanging in the balance. A stunning debut."
--Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures & author of The Lovely Reckless

"This book glitters like stars. With a heart-pounding plot, twisty secrets, and characters you can't help but root for, Empress of a Thousand Skies had me turning pages well into the night!"
--Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of the Across the Universe series