Seller
Your price
£5.01
RRP: £6.99
Save £1.98 (28%)
Dispatched within 2-3 working days.

The Golden Butterfly

By (author) Sharon Gosling
Format: Paperback / softback
Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group, London, United Kingdom
Imprint: Stripes Publishing
Published: 2nd May 2019
Dimensions: w 129mm h 199mm d 23mm
Weight: 274g
ISBN-10: 1788950321
ISBN-13: 9781788950329
Barcode No: 9781788950329
Synopsis
The Golden Butterfly danced in the air, beautiful and impossible, yet there before their eyes. Then the Magnificent Marko flicked his wand again. There was a shower of sparks, a bang and ... the Golden Butterfly vanished. It's 1897 and since the Magnificent Marko dramatically departed the stage, no magician has come close to performing a trick as spectacular as the Golden Butterfly. With her grandfather gone, Luciana feels that the world has lost its wonder. Then the imposing leader of the Grand Society of Magicians appears, searching for something belonging to Marko, and Luciana is drawn into a world of danger and deception. As she battles to protect her grandfather's greatest legacy, can she distinguish reality from illusion? A dazzling tale of bravery and friendship in this fast-paced historical adventure for fans of Katherine Woodfine, COGHEART and THE NOWHERE EMPORIUM. "A perfectly paced and wonderfully written tale of mystery and magic... I'm sure this is a book I'll return to with great enjoyment. A fantastic read!" - Sinead O'Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH and THE STAR-SPUN WEB

New & Used

Seller Information Condition Price
-New£5.01
+ FREE UK P & P

What Reviewers Are Saying

Submit your review
Newspapers & Magazines
'A wonderful story full of colourful characters, magic and women proving men wrong about how clever, talented and wondrous they truly are!' -- Erin Foote, Librarian at Asset Education, My Shelves Are Full 'This is an absorbing, richly-detailed historical adventure which enthralled me from the start. This story cleverly weaves together a fast-paced intriguing adventure with social issues related to women's role in society... A spectacular jigsaw which, when finished, reveals an incredible family history, steeped in sacrifice and love.' -- Mary Rees, Book Craic `I adored every second of THE GOLDEN BUTTERFLY! This is one of the best middle grade books I've read in recent years.' -- Kayleigh, @snailycanflyy 'Clever, magical writing by Sharon Gosling brings to life an inspiring star character who, through sheer determination, faces down inequality, bullying and misogyny... A hold your breath, dramatic and emotional finale brings to a close a book which is not to be missed!' -- Tim Holt, part time bookseller 'This is an exciting read with strong characters and a plot that twists, turns and slides into place just like one of the Magnificent Marko's puzzle boxes. It is a page turner which will appeal to readers who like adventure, mystery and intrigue. The Magnificent Marko would be proud - it's simply magical.' -- Jo Clarke, ReadingZone 'A perfectly paced and wonderfully written tale of mystery and magic which reminded me of Peter Bunzl's COGHEART, but with a charm all its own, this is an excellent, absorbing and unputdownable story from Sharon Gosling. THE GOLDEN BUTTERFLY conjures up a world of stage magicians, rivalry, magical illusions and family secrets, asking some big and important questions about gender equality and opportunity along the way. Luciana and Charley are wonderful creations, characters to really root for in a story packed with memorable players, and I'm sure this is a book I'll return to with great enjoyment. A fantastic read!' -- Sinead O'Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH and THE STAR-SPUN WEB "Gosling's novel is an intricate puzzle, filled with cunning sleights of hand. While touching on issues of class and especially gender, its main purpose is to bewitch and enhral, which it does admirably all the way to its uplifting finale." -- Financial Times